

## Mail Handlers Local Union No. 323

1602 Selby Ave., Suite 5 St. Paul, MN 55104 (651) 646-2827 Fax (651) 646-0991 Local323@ix.netcom.com

## Minutes of the Local Union 323 Executive Board Meeting ST. PAUL, MN October 27, 2012

Local President Jeff Larsen called the Executive Board to order at 12:05 p.m. Roll call was taken by Recording Secretary Dean Abatte.

## IN ATTENDANCE:

Local President: Jeff Larsen Vice President: Kathleen Schultz Recording Secretary: Dean Abatte

**Treasurer:** John Frey

MN State Representative: Shane Ryden

**ND State Representative:** Brock Engstrom (via phone)

## Special session to discuss the St. Paul Branch President Vacancy

Recently the Local 323 office received an unexpected resignation from St. Paul Branch President Douglas Vitek.

Due to this resignation, Local President Jeff Larsen scheduled an Executive Board meeting on October 27<sup>th</sup> 2012 per Bylaws of the National Postal Mail handlers Union Local 323 Article 10 Succession of Officers, Section 1 Resignation.

If for any reason an Officer of this Local Union resigns from his/her position and the length of term remaining is more than one (1) year, an Executive Board meeting will be convened within 21 days to fill that position by majority vote. For length of term of less than one (1) year a phone poll may be conducted. A vacancy filled in this manner shall be for the remainder of the term.

After discussing the options to fill the position, Local President Larsen nominated St. Paul Chief Shop Steward Gerald LaBarre. The Executive Board discussed the nomination. Local Executive Board member Dean Abatte 2<sup>nd</sup> the nomination and subsequently the nomination was put to vote.

All were in favor and the motion passed unanimously to fill the vacancy in the office of St. Paul Branch President with Gerald LaBarre.

A motion to adjourn was made by ND State Rep. Brock Engstrom and  $2^{nd}$  by Local Vice President Kathleen Schultz.

Jeff Larsen

Local President

Kathy Schultz

Vice President

Dean Abatte
Recording Secretary

John Frey
Treasurer

State Executive Board Members

Shane Ryden *Minnesota* 

Brock Engstrom
North Dakota

**Branch Presidents** 

Dean Abatte

Minneapolis

Gerald LaBarre
St. Paul

Mike Straiton

BMC

Gary Tollefsrud *Fargo* 



The motion carried and the meeting adjourned at 12:20 p.m.

Respectfully Submitted,

Dean Abatte Recording Secretary Local 323 National Postal Mail Handlers Union

cc: Local Union Council Branch Leaders File